{500} days of…

You know that movie, 500 days of Summer? It’s great, you should see it. It’s a real life love story that doesn’t work out in a perfect Disney romance kind of way.

500daysIt was actually kind of hard to watch given the current circumstances (read: breakup). But I think it was necessary. It got me thinking… in cliches, unfortunately.

1) It’s not the destination but the journey that counts

2) Time heals everything (name that musical theatre song..)

3) Nothing lasts forever

4) The darkest moments come just before the dawn

I could go on, but I won’t. I think it’s easy to be angry. Not at the person, but at the world. Why can’t this work out as easily as it has worked out for (insert your happily coupled friends names here)? What if I made a mistake? What if that was my chance and I missed it? What if he’s the one?

Well, as Dan Savage says, “there is no one, we find someone that’s close enough and we round them up”. (PS- if you don’t know who Dan Savage is you should probably go listen to the Savage Love Podcast right now.. GO!). I think what I am trying to say is that although I kind of broke my own heart, and it sucks, and I feel crappy about it, and I’ll never be sure what could’ve happened, I’ll never know what was the “right” thing to do, and I miss him, and I’m lonely…

iregret

 

In this picture, I was in Verona, Italy putting up a love note to Juliet on this wall near her statue that’s full of love letters.

I regret nothing.

Because what has been in my life, is part of where I’m going. And I don’t know where that is yet, because I don’t know when my “500” days of Summer will be over, because maybe my movie title is “458 days of Summer” or “1 334 days of Summer”. I won’t know until it’s Autumn. But I’m the star of this movie, and I’m going to do my best to enjoy the ride while it lasts. Because no matter what the outcome, my summer was full of good, lovely, wonderful times. And just because the end result wasn’t marriage or death (that’s what we think of as the only acceptable outcome to successful relationships), it doesn’t mean the journey wasn’t really amazing and memorable.

 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

