so you want to run a half marathon?

 

I’m not an expert runner. But, I will tell you the first step to running a half marathon. The undeniably, undisputed, unremarkable fact is: Lady, you gotta run. It’s January; I don’t want to. It’s cold. There’s f-ing ice on the sides of the roads. But you know what? I still loved it. It was hard, given the fact that I can’t actually remember the last time I ran. I walked a bit in the middle, stopped to take photos, and lingered to observe an older couple walking down the path smiling, hand in hand. But I did it.

first run1

I love the running path in my little city. In the summer it’s packed with kiddies learning to ride bikes and dogs who should be on leashes but aren’t. But in the winter, on a crisp morning like today, it was almost deathly still. In the most beautiful way. Every now and then I could hear the ice cracking along the shore. I’ve always said, I can handle winter if there’s sun. And blue sky. And no snow. And it doesn’t last too long. Let’s be real, winter can be over now that I enjoyed it so much today.
firstrun2

It’s a little sad that I ran a 5 mile race a little over a year ago in 45 minutes, and now I can run 3 miles in 37 minutes, but, I ‘m not going to dwell on that. The “speed” didn’t go anywhere. It’s there, ready to be awakened again. I’ll never be super speedy, but I do have a lot of room for improvement within my own abilities. Also, I have no desire to get injured or anything even close. If I run, I want it to run easy, focused on the world around me. I don’t want to be in pain.
firstrun3

Best part of all this, was I took my sweet Dog for a waltz around the park afterwards. She was really happy about that fact.
Do you run? What’s the longest you’ve ever taken off from running?
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. I did a half last year, good luck with your training. I think consistent training is the key and for me, running in all weathers. It its a nice day its a bonus!

    Reply
  2. I’ve been on hiatus since my half in December. I just can’t seem to make the time; but that changes today. I have to force myself out there!
    Also wanted to let you know I nominated you for a Liebster Award. It’s a fun way to connect with other up-and-coming bloggers. Check it out at my blog: http://totalmamamakeover.wordpress.com/2013/01/19/liebster-award/

    Reply
  3. Running in the winter is certainly hard! I have done 3 half marathons and 3 marathons before! I am signed up for my fourth in the Spring. Sooo, even though it is FREEZING cold, I sort of need to get my butt out the door to run. Like today, I don’t really feel like running, but I am GOING TO MAKE MYSELF GO! This week is supposed to get incredibly cold..brrr! Not looking forward to that. I have been a runner basically my whole life. The most I took off was after my first year graduating from college…I took off that winter about 4 months. I really struggled to get back in shape and swore I would never do that again as long as I decided to continue running races! Enjoyed reading your blog!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

