happy birthday dad

dadtoday is my dad’s birthday.

Every day that passes, I realize more and more how lucky I am to have such an amazing dad. Not once in my life have I ever had to wonder whether he loves me, or supports me, or misses me, or wants the best for me. I know he does. How can I possibly have been so lucky as to get this man for a dad. We’re so similar and yet so different. I think he understands me more than anyone in the whole world. He knows how to get me to do something right away; like getting the oil changed.

I always have been close with my parents, and I guess I thought as people get older, they grow apart from their families as they start their own. I feel exactly the opposite. I have never wanted to spend more time with my parents. I have never had more questions for them. I know I’m just beginning to understand the depths of their love for me. And I want them to know it’s never gone unnoticed. I am so grateful that when my little baby spirit was floating around in the universe and I spotted this lovable,  young, hippie, South African couple who wasn’t even really wanting a baby yet, I knew they had to be mine. I feel like I picked them. Just for me. These people have made me everything I am and everything I will ever be.

Happy Birthday Dad.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. I love it — and running races with your dad is the best! I do whenever I can!

    Reply
  2. Rachel

     /  January 15, 2013

    Love this…I felt the same way about my dad.
    I think you’ll make a nice roomie!
    🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

