The Lovely Ride.

Welcome to the new space. The new design. The new logo. I hope you like it! I’ve had fun coming up with the images, words, fonts, and colours. It’s still a work in progress. I’ve so enjoyed the creative process of it all though. Something from nothing. It’s pretty cool.
kay

I’ve thought a lot about what I want this weird internet place to be used for. I’ve come up with this: A place to celebrate all the things that make life lovely.

Lately, I’ve been down. Big changes are taking place in my life, and I’m scared. I came up with this title and mission statement in the middle of the night when I couldn’t sleep. I was up thinking about all the could woulda shouldas of the day and focused on all the things I’ve done wrong lately. Then an image flashed in my mind of me, down the road a couple years, looking back on this “interesting” time in my life where I had no ties, no kids, no serious financial obligations, no one to answer to, and that older version of myself thinking how lovely it had been. How lovely it is to have the time to notice how lovely life is. To have the energy to notice the beauty, the simplicity, the kindness of other people. I decided I wanted a place to collect all that loveliness and store it up for a rainy day. Like a loveliness bank.
intropic

This is my story. Where small things are celebrated. Where silly (sometimes terrible) photos are shared. Where my creations have a place to live be them crocheted, knitted, drawn, sewn, written, cooked, baked, sung, or danced. Where you can come and share a story or leave a comment that can bring positivity to our lives. I want my story to be filled with love. I want it to be lovely.

dreamI spend a lot of my time telling myself I can’t do something. I can’t sew that quilt because it won’t be the best quilt that anyone ever made. I shouldn’t go to that dance class because I won’t be even close to the best dancer there. I shouldn’t try to make that awesome cake on Pinterest, because it’ll never be as beautiful as the picture. You know what? WHO CARES. The destination isn’t what matters when it comes to creation;  it’s the journey. It’s the process. It’s the ride, that counts. I want to make my ride lovely.

Thank you for stopping by and checking out my new look.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Paula Baasner

     /  January 12, 2013

    Kayla,
    I love your site. I think it is wonderfully reflective and beautiful…just like you!! It was really nice to see you at Emily’s launch party the other night. I wish you all the best. I look forward to seeing you again on stage or just around Woodstock!
    Take care,
    Paula (McMullan) Baasner

    Reply
  2. Linda GVW

     /  January 12, 2013

    I’m so proud of you, Kayla. You go, girl……..and keep going, even when the going gets tough. Love you. Linda

    Reply

Leave a Reply

