30 before 30: Sewing

One of my 30 before 30 goals was to learn how to sew on a sewing machine!  I finally got to it this summer.  I pulled out my mom’s machine and the instruction manual and got to work.  She’s barely used it, as it had been given to her by her mom in an attempt to get her to sew.  It didn’t work.  Everyone says I take after my Granny anyway.  Turns out my mom was helpful with certain weird things like threading the machine for the first time.  Although, we did have to spend a lot of time pouring over the instruction manual.  It was frustrating, but the mistakes that I made ultimately taught me how to do it better.  Just keep at it.

I made some clothes for my bear first thing.  They were crappy and uneven, but also the most awesome thing ever.After the clothes, I decided to make some napkins and actually do my best to make them good.  Turns out, sewing is really more like ironing.  To get a good seam, I had to iron iron iron the napkins.  Oh, and cutting.  Measure, cut, iron, sew.  The sewing is the easiest part really.

It may not be perfect, but I can do it.  I can sew on my sewing machine!  Goal: Crossed off!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Look at you go!!!! I love the little pants! Having fun sewing, beauty!
    Cx

    Reply

Leave a comment

  • Recent Posts

  • Goodreads

  • Meta