Instant Food

Last night, I spent the evening prepping food for the coming week.  I chopped onions, broccoli, and cauliflower.  Cooked quiona, presoaked chickpeas, and grilled vegetables and tofu.  I also munched on lots of different yummy things while I cooked.  I don’t normally do this, but I think I’m going to have to start.  Tonight, when I went to make my dinner, I had options.  Blessed options.  I threw some vinegar soaked chickpeas in the oven to start toasting as a little salty appetizer as per THIS recipe.  I had just bought a jar of my favorite salsa (with black beans and corn in it) and knew I wanted to use it up.  I ate my S+V chickpeas while preparing my dinner.  A quinoa bowl with a lettuce base, sauteed onions, broccoli, and cauliflower and lots of salsa on top.  Quick, delicious, and nutritious.

The thing about healthy eating is that it’s kind of tough.  It’s not always the easiest solution when you’re tired and hungry to chop up veggies and cook grains.  It’s easier to get take out, or if you’re like me, eat toast with peanut butter on it for every meal.  Now, I’m not saying there’s anything wrong with the occasional cereal dinner, but I want to strive towards green, clean meals.  Ones with veggies in them.  And that takes planning, my friends.  Chopping, buying, thinking, organizing, tupperwaring, cleaning up.. all in advance of that moment when you get home from tap dancing all day and need “instant food”.

Do you make meals in advance?  How do you handle “instant food” problems in your life?

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. It’s only been over the past few months that I really got into prepping meals/foods in advance and what a huge time saver it is! I typically spend sunday afternoons and evenings roasting vegetables, cooking grains, and figuring out protein sources for the week (not veggie, but I like to have a mix of animal proteins and non-animal proteins). This definitely cuts down on prep times for dinners during the week and since I usually have salads for lunch at work, I can build a bunch of salad jars to just grab and go. As I make dinner, I also get my lunch and snacks together for the next day so I don’t have to do it in the A.M. Basically, I’m eating healthier, saving time, and not scrambling for food. Win-Win-Win!
    Hope you’re having an awesome time at Stratford!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

