30 before 30.

I am 24, I realize.  But for some reason, I’ve been feeling like life is passing me by of late. I think the “twenties” are a deceptively tough time for women. I kind of feel like any moment now, my life is going to get ahead of me. Any moment now, I’ll jump on the “get engaged, get married, buy a house, have some kiddies” train.  And, don’t get me wrong, I’m really excited about that stage of my life. Like, really excited. Anyone who knows me, knows I’ve had the baby bug since I was about 16 years old. I just want to make sure that, in my life, I feel fulfilled. No matter how many other things are demanding my attention, I want to have fun, attainable, personal goals that I can work towards. Things that make me a happier, more well rounded person.

I am one of those super lucky people who made a career out of my hobby; dancing/performing. I LOVE that about my life. But, that’s the thing about hobbies… people need them to feel happy. We need something that takes us away from everything else in our lives. I’ve felt a little lost in my life without my “hobby” of dance. Because, as much as I love my job, it’s still a job some days. Lately, I’ve been searching for some hobbies/passions that can help me when I need a break from my job.

Enter, 30 before 30.  30 goals. to be completed by the time I’m 30. I didn’t want these to be like “have a family” or “buy a house”.  Stuff like that is so hard to pinpoint. There are so many unknowns with having kids and stuff like that. I want these goals to be about me. So that nothing outside of me can get in the way of me achieving them.

30 before 30.

1. Run a half-marathon

2. Run a marathon

3. Compete in 30 races

4. Complete a 30 day yoga challenge

5. Learn to sew on a sewing machine

6. Take a photography class

7. Take a cooking class

8. Complete a daily photography challenge

9. Blog everyday for 30 days

10. Make a piece of clothing for myself

11. Weigh my happy weight

12. Host a fantastic dinner party

13. Dye my hair an interesting colour

14. Take Mr. Best Things to South Africa to meet my family

15. Take a hot air balloon ride.

16. Be able to still do right and left leg splits and a straddle with my chest on the floor

17. Take a long road trip

18. Become a certified yoga teacher

19. Write a guest post for someone else’s blog

20. Get 100 views in a day on Best Things Happen…  (March 10th, 2012)

21. Go bungee jumping/sky diving.. something thrilling and mind bogglingly high off the ground

22. Climb a crazy high mountain.  One that takes more than a day is more than sufficient.

23. Stay up all night and watch the sun rise over a beach somewhere beautiful

24. Backpack through Europe with Mr. Best Things.

25. Spend a summer in NYC.

26. Create a recipe and publish a tutorial with beautiful, edited pictures

27. Get a degree

28. Go skinny dipping with Mr. Best Things

29. Volunteer somewhere

30. Move to a new home

Previous Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Hi, really enjoyed your post – it’s great you’re thinking about all that now – I didn’t – because the 30 will come faster round the corner than you think (at least my experience…)
    But then, life doesn’t stop when you’re 30. In many ways, it’s getting even better. You know more or less exactly what you want and in many cases now you have the means to make it happen, compared to being constantly broke in your twenties – or at least I was.. 🙂

    Reply
    • Hi there! Thanks for the comment! I totally agree, life is just getting better as I get older. I’m pumped to start a full on “bucket list” too! I’ll need lots more goals after I turn 30 too! THanks for stopping by!

      Reply
  2. Love the goals! I never made a 30 before 30 list and I’m two years away! It’s something I’m definitely thinking about.
    I’m sure you’ll accomplish them all – you do, afterall, have six years to go!

    Reply
  3. Great list! and it is good you are starting it now! I started my 30 before 30 right before I turned 28 and time flew by! I am 31 and still working on marking off the last few things on the list. Good luck!!

    Reply
  4. LOVE this!! I have the exact same list, well the list is different…but the premise the same! I call it my Age Bracket List! http://cueyourlife.com/2011/10/11/my-age-bracket-list/

    It’s a bucket list for my 20s! I love your list, good luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

