What I Do

For those of you who have been wondering what I do for a living, I thought I’d do a quick overview. In pictures!

My professional career as an actor/dancer/singer started in 2005 at Sheridan College where I studied Music Theatre – Performance. I sang, danced, acted, choreographed, stage fought, wrote essays, and cried my way through the years up until graduation in 2008. In case you’re wondering, theatre school is known for it’s ability to “break you down and then build you back up again”.  Hence the crying. All in all, a great experience.

I did a show straight out of school called “Oh Canada EH!?”.  Every time you hear the word, “Eh”, you have to yell it right back, Eh?!  Then they yell “EH”!  It’s not all glamour in show business, I promise. Moving along…

Next up, I got to play Susan in a musical version of “The Lion, the Witch and, the Wardrobe” by C.S. Lewis called “Narnia”. Lots of stage fighting, crying over dead lions, and fake bow shooting fun to be had!

In “The Wizard of Oz” I got to hang from the flys (the rigging above the stage) dressed like a monkey in a harness and risk my life every night. I love flying in shows!

In “Beauty and the Beast” I got to swoon over Gaston every night.  One of my favourite shows ever. 

I’ve been in “White Christmas” twice. It’s such a lovely dance show, and being in the ensemble is such a blast. Once I even got to learn the original Broadway choreography from one of Randy Skinner’s assistants. Dream come true.

I got to bop around in “Hairspray” playing one of the “Nicest Kids in Town”. Cardio workout onstage every night!

In an Elvis Jukebox musical called “All Shook Up”, I got to be dressed all in pink for the whole show and try not to fall in love with Elvis’ swinging hips every night.
I travel all over the country performing in shows for a living. I have a super fun job. It’s not all glamour though, don’t be fooled. The major disadvantage is that I work contracts. So generally, I’m performing for about 2-3 months at a time, then I have to audition and book another show (hopefully). Performing is not for the weak of heart… not sure what I’m doing in this industry. I’m pretty sensitive.

But I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

