2011 Outrun Poverty 5K – Edmonton

Mr. Best Things and I decided to run TWO races this weekend.  We’ve been away from each other for the last two and a half months and we were dying to get out and about and DO SOMETHING together.  I should write a post about long distance relationships…

Saturday morning, we woke up at 8:30 and started getting ready.  Our race started at 10:15. Why so late, you ask? I know, all the twitter and blogger runners write about their 3:45a.m. wake up calls before races. Well, up here in the north of Canada, we have to start our races later so we aren’t freezing, instead of earlier to avoid the heat. Crazy, right?  I love being Canadian.

We signed up for this race on a whim and didn’t really even know what the cause was until we got there. Turned out to be directly related to a church.. which I found funny considering the number I was handed.

I guess they knew the atheist in the crowd, right? Pre-race festivities included rocking out to an all girl, Christian rock band, powered by this stationary bike generator. Fun!

We were super cold waiting for the race to start so we jumped in the car and turned on the heater. The race was starting at 10:15 and being only a 3o second walk from the starting line (albeit, behind a row of trees) we decided to wait in the car till 10:10. At 10:07, I said, “I feel like we should go”. We skip on over to see a group of runners and walkers disappearing over the hill. I yelled, “Are they the 5K runners?” Hoping they were running a different distance than us. And I got a “yes!” followed by some good natured laughing, so we set off running. The clock read about 2 minutes at this point.

It didn’t really bother me at the time, but the more I think about it the more it does bother me.  I paid $28 for my race entry. There were no chips, no t-shirts, finishing medals/water bottles/anything. AND, they started a full 10 minutes early. Oh, and the real kicker, the race was only 2.98 miles according to Imapmyrun on my Iphone. This is weird, right?

It was fun to run with Mr. Best Things again. Our last run together was in Ontario is August. He’s faster than me even though I’ve been running like 10 times more than him. Annoying! Good thing he’s so cute. The race was hilly and fun to run. Good, old fashioned trail running for most of it. Right along the river. I love autumn!

Even with all the random race problems, we still had fun.  We were pretty beat afterwards from all the obstacle avoiding on the trails.  We came in (very unofficially) at around 29 minutes.  Not our fastest.  But given the hills, pedestrians, early start, and unleashed dogs, I’m happy.  We got to go out for breakfast afterwards.  What a simple treat.  I love coming home.

Have you ever ran a really disorganized race?  Did it bother you?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

