Second Week of Training

Here’s the overview of what I actually did for my week two of 10 Miler Training (you can check out what I planned to do here).  As you can see, my long runs have migrated to Mondays instead of their planned Sundays.  This suits me just fine because in theatre we almost always only have one day off, and that day is Monday!  We call it our “dark day” which means the theatre is not open that day.  Because really, who wants to go to the theatre on a Monday night.  So really, Mondays are my Saturdays and Sundays all rolled into one (much too short) day!So far so good with my mileage.  It’s not as high as my projected training schedule, but it is increasing each week at a reasonable pace.  I got killed this week in a 3.5 hour swing dance call on Wednesday.  It was on a cement floor, in heels, with lots of lifting.  I am covered in hand shaped bruises.  It really took a toll on my body.  I could barely move the next day, and not in a good way.  Just another example of how you have to be flexible and listen to your body while training.  My number one priority is to NOT GET INJURED.  I can’t afford it.  I need my body to make money. (that sounded wrong.. I need it because I get paid to dance in musicals 8 times a week.. can’t have an injury to maintain that kind of schedule!)

I really don’t know what I’m going to do once it gets cold and snowy out.  That’s a whole new world of crazy running pain I’m going to have to explore.  Just look at this lovely trail I get to run on.  The trail head is only about 0.5 miles from my house and it’s paved for a good mile in.  It’s shady and perfect; filled with lots of happily exercising strangers who always say hi!

In other news, I have been in desperate need of some sort of running belt as my runs get longer.  I need to carry my debit card, some fuel (I tried “E Load” gel and HATED IT.  It tasted fine, I just think the texture of gels is DISGUSTING.  I’m going to try a chew next), and whatever else I need that day.  For the time being, I’m using the oldest, most awesomely dorky, travel money belt.  I can tuck it into my pants in the back and it lays flat against my body.  PERFECT, and free.

Shall we enjoy the rest of the beautiful summery weather?  I think we shall.

How do you handle running in the cold?  What are your thoughts?

Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. saw you put up a new post so another comment from me! when i should be doing work…. oops?

    Love that you said you can’t get injured because you use your body to make money.

    Running belt: I got one from Mountain Equipment Co-op and really like it. It has a spot for a water bottle (at an angle, which I prefer) as well as a zippered pocket. You can get one with a small pocket or one with a larger pocket. I went with the larger one so I can have my cell phone, some snacks, money, keys, etc. Definitely try different styles to find one you like. I find the water bottle placement to be the most important feature.

    For fuel on my long runs, I take almonds and dates and find this to be perfect. I really don’t want to spend the money on bars and those goo packages when I can have healthy, whole foods at a much cheaper price. I’m planning to take a clif or a larabar with me for my half-marathon this weekend (eek!) in addition to dates and almonds just to make sure I have enough fuel to prevent a full-out collapse.

    Running in the cold: layers! easier to strip down than be freezing on a run. Sweat-wicking materials are best. When it is super-cold in Ottawa, I will often put on a balaclava that is zippered at the chin. Keeps most of my face warm but I can unzip it a bit of it gets too warm. And if you are going to be running on possibly icy paths, you can get spikes for your shoes.

    TTFN! Hope the bruises heal quickly!

    Reply
    • Nice to hear from you again Danielle! There’s so much fun gear with running!! I’m pumped to get a Garmin one of these days. And a belt. I was wondering about running with a water bottle, I guess you just have to find the one that you like best. And I’m glad that I don’t have to eat any more GELS!! GROSS. And I agree, why not eat whole food if possible. I’m sure some people have trouble digesting while they’re running, but I think I’ll be okay at my current distances. I am terrified of running in the cold. I might be making best friends with my treadmill.

      Thanks for stopping by!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

