A Letter

Dear (check whatever applies):

_ lady who was running up the hill tonight at 8p.m. wearing stylish black workout gear

_ lady who was trying her best in my bodyflow class tonight

_ gentleman walking into gym at 8p.m. wearing a suit obviously coming straight from work

_ anyone who wonders if people are judging them while they workout

I just want to say I applaud you.

I have had the good fortune in my life to be active thus far.  As a dancer, I have learned to control my body even when put in very unlikely situations (my first body pump class).  My body works with me when I want to try something new fitness wise. And yet, when I started running outside, I figured EVERYONE was staring at me.  Everyone was waiting for me to have to stop so they could say “See, she’s not a runner.  She’s just walking.”  Why do we do this to ourselves?

Every time I see someone out running, biking, walking with a friend, out with their dog, and so on, I think to myself, “Good for you”. Especially if that person isn’t a 120 lbs. ball of muscle who looks like they’ve been running their whole lives.  I find myself drawn to the lady who probably just worked a full day, made her kids dinner, cleaned up, then laced up her running shoes and got out the door.  To me, that’s dedication.  I look up to people like that.  I look to you for inspiration.

So thank you.  To everyone who tweets their mileage.  To everyone who blogs their race recaps.  To all the pregnant ladies who walk 3 miles a day and run 5K’s faster than I can.  To all the new moms who blog about their fitness regime.  You guys are the ones who have made me see that I have no excuse.  I am young, fit, and childless.  I am not rich, but I do have running shoes.  And a lovely man who will run with me.

Next time you think, “Meh, I don’t feel like running today” think of the lady who got up at 4:45a.m. to get her long run in on a Saturday before her kids got up.  It’s not about comparing yourself to others, it’s about taking inspiration and motivation from the miracles that surround us.  We can walk, run, sweat, get stronger, and feel better.  So why wouldn’t we?

What do you use for motivation when you’re just not feeling it?

Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. kaylajulephotography

     /  September 13, 2011

    This is such a wonderful post. I feel the same way when I see someone running outside. I am so grateful that I’m still young and not too tied down yet, so my running routine might be something I take for granted because I can do it before I go to work. But I applaud all the women out there who run after work, or late at night, or so early in the morning. Such inspirations 🙂

    Reply
  2. Here Here. Thanks for stopping by!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

