Springbank Road Race – 5K

I ran my second ever 5K today!  It was a Father’s Day gift for my dad which was so belated due to the fact that I live across the country from him.  And guess what?  I PR’d!!!  By five minutes!

Here I am, 6:45am and pumped.  Things started off with a bang this morning: restless sleep, peanut butter toast with banana on top, coffee, and waking my little brother up ten minutes before we had to leave (he ran too!).

We arrived about 45 minutes early, picked up our race packets and ankle chips.  I felt like an old pro having run a 5K in July!  We even got to catch the start of the Half Marathon which was really inspiring.  The organizers had a great idea when they had the Half Marathoners lap past the start line once before the 5K started half an hour later.  So we did a lot of cheering!  Then it was our turn…

We started about halfway in the pack.  And off we went.

My goal for this race was to run it faster than my first 5K time of 32:33.  I knew that there wasn’t a lot of room for taking it easy on my end. I had to push my comfortable pace if I wanted to break 30 minutes.  I started off fast.  And I was suffering right from the get go.  About 1KM in, I found my breathing.  I think I kept a pretty steady pace and just aimed to keep moving forward.  I picked a girl who looked about my age and stuck right on her tail.  I decided to follow her and pass her right at the end.  I ended up passing her just before the halfway point and staying ahead of her the whole time!

My brother and I ran together for just over half the race and at some point I just pulled ahead.  He was about a minute behind me from that point.  The rolling hills of the course were just enough of a challenge to keep me super focused.  I was having such a crazy inner dialogue from about 3 KM until the end.  I was just telling myself to “keep moving”, “this pain is temporary”, “you’re going to feel so great when it’s over”,  “you’re running so much faster than you ever have before”, “you’re keeping such a fast, steady pace”.  I was just telling myself anything positive I could think of.  And it worked!  I came in 4th in my age range (Females 20-29) with a gun time of 27:39 and a chip time of 27:28!!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Great time for your second 5K! Congrats on surpassing your goal.

    Reply
  2. Congrats! Looks like you guys had a lot of fun doing the race. Love that you ‘raced’ against another girl to maintain your pace – smart move!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

