Getting Motivated

2011 Canada Day Road Race here we come!

Mr. Best Things and I have signed up for our first 5K!  I’ve never run a race before in my life.  Unless you count my failed attempts at cross country in grade seven.  I really was bad back then.  But now, running and I have become friends, well maybe just acquaintances.  Mr. Best Things and running have been good friends for a while now.  Let’s just say, I’ll be the one huffing my way past the 5K finish line while Mr. BT could have run a 10K in the same amount of time .

I’m nervous and excited.  And I need to start researching how to train.  Or better yet, I need to get my but outside and hit the pavement.  We have been thinking about running a race together for a while now.  To spend some quality, fun time doing something athletic, but mostly for motivation to get outside.  I noticed Caitlin, over at Healthy Tipping Point was commenting about the same phenomenon: need motivation?  Sign up for a race!

Motivation is an interesting thing for me.  I get crazy bursts of it, usually around bikini season, and then will go months at a time without an exercise care in the world.  What gives?  To be honest, what my life is lacking in terms of my healthy living goals, is consistency.  As my wise (younger) brother said once; 80% of the time do good, 20% do bad.  80% veggies, whole grains, lean protein.  20% ice cream and chips.  So, 80% of your days need sweat and 20% need couch surfing.  Right?

Something that always seems to give me motivation is reading about other people getting off their asses.  Magazines, books, and most recently BLOGS!  It’s such an exciting new frontier of healthy, active  lifestyle reading!  And now that I’m blogging all on my own as well… I’d have to say, this swimsuit season is shaping up to be the best one yet!

What do you do to stay motivated?  Do you find exercise a battle sometimes?

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I am attempting to do a 30 day Bikram challenge! We will see my friend. we will see! Day 2 and I am a sleepy cat!

    Reply
  2. YOU ARE?? congrats Chels! how’s it going? are you going to blog about it?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

